Best format for 16 Team League?

All,

I am doing a 16 team league for the first time. I am a seasoned vet when it comes to fantasy, however I want some input on people who have played in 16 team leagues and what seems to work best. We are a PPR league and I intend to keep it that way. My biggest questions are:

How many divisions work best (2 or 4)? - I typically am not a fan of divisions at all but feel like in a 16 team league we need to mix it up somehow.

What is the best roster format? - Right now I have 1 - QB, 2 - RB, 2 - WR, 1 - WR/TE, 1 or 2 - Flex, 1 - DST, 1 -K

What is the best sized bench? - This is a competitive league, but not insanely competitive. I want to keep something on the wire but understand it will be rather diluted. Right now I am between doing 4 and 5 bench spots.

Should I put roster maximums on certain positions? - I typically am not a huge fan of this either, however I feel like RB in particular could get really dicey if we do not cap rosters at 5 spots, thoughts?

Anything else anyone can offer or articles that may help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Floyd Lloyd

I am still experimenting with the best roster format. I am currently using a 12 team league with the following composition: 1-QB, 2-RB, 3-WR, 2-TE, 1-flex, 1-superflex, 1-K, 1-DST, 6-bench, 2-IR. This is all subject to change.

One thing I discovered last year is that too few roster positions leads to too many waiver streaming opportunities. So whatever size league you have, make sure you are taking a good portion of available NFL starters, at least half or all.

The best sized bench allows for one player at each starting position (not counting flex or superflex positions).

I actually prefer leaving positions uncapped. It is a valid strategy to draft more than you need, and trade it later for a position you do need.