Advice on draft for new league

Hello, I am a seasoned fantasy player. I am doing a brand new format I have never done before and was wondering if you have any advice on how to set up my draft.

I am used to PPR 1 QB leagues, for me I wait for QB as long as possible… Do you grab a QB in round one with the below rules?

NEW LEAGUE

Start : 1 QB, 7 FLEX (RB,WR,TE), 1 super flex (QB,RB,WR,TE)

6 points all tds
RB = 1 ppr
WR = .5 ppr
TE = 1.5 ppr

Thanks for any advice.

1 Like

Welcome aboard!

With a QB and a superflex, and 6 point td’s, you need to draft QB’s early and often. Your first two rounds should be dedicated to getting 2 QB’s.

Beyond that, I need to know whether this is dynasty, redraft, or keeper?

2 Likes

thanks! it is a redraft league.

1 Like

You should draft a QB early. If in round 1 depends on your draft position. If you have a late spot, and the top 5-6 QBs are gone already, I’d recommend to take a top RB or WR here.

If you pick early in round 1, or if few teams have picked a QB, I’d indeed recommend to draft a QB first, and maybe even second as well, as @edmcgon suggested.

And if you go for a non-QB first, I’d still recommend to not wait too long. Latest by round 5, you should have 2 QBs on your roster. A “zero QB” strategy absolutely does not work in SFLEX leagues

I’d also recommend to go after a 3rd QB around round 8-9. Keep in mind that, in a 12-team league, not all teams can get a 3rd QB. But you will need one for bye weeks or in case of injuries.

The reason QBs are so important in SFLEX league is because they score so many more points than RBs or WRs. In half-PPR, the average QB#25 scores as many points per game as the RB#5 or the WR#3. If you have to start a 2nd tier RB or WR on SFLEX, you will easily lose 7-8 points compared to a 2nd tier QB.